President’s Choice Chocolate Chips

Overall Score4
  • Taste
  • Value
  • Convenience
  • Ethical Consciousness
  • Cheap. Good. Convenient.

Presidents Choice Chocolate Chips

Presidents Choice Chocolate Chips

These unsuspecting semi-sweet chocolate chips are vegan! I believe they are only sold in Canada (but are called President’s choice for the president of the company, if you were confused like me). President’s Choice chocolate chips are one of my favourite vegan products that are not made for vegans. Non-vegans often assume that all chocolate contains milk and being vegan means relinquishing chocolate from your life. On the contrary sweet omnivores, cocoa itself is vegan and milk is not always added to it. You may be thinking now of dark chocolate, but be careful, some dark chocolate does have added milk. Some chocolate products you think would contain milk occasionally don’t. Take Oreos and Fudgeos for example, they have NO animal products in them (in Canada. Double check this for your individual country). Now back to the chips. These are great to recommend to non-vegan friends when they want to make you a batch of cookies but are freaked out by the prospect of finding vegan chocolate. These chocolate chips are good. They are not of great quality and they are definitely not organic or Fair Trade. However, they are cheap and work like a chocolate chip should. I actually prefer the texture and taste of President’s Choice chocolate chips over Camino semi-sweet chocolate chips, which are Fair Trade. If you can find these bad boys, buy them! You won’t be disappointed.

UPDATE November 2013: Bags with the code: 6038307922 (possibly the larger bag?) are may contain as usual. Bags with the code: 6038365205 (300g bags) are may contain (made in the same facility) as well as made on a line with dairy products. According to PC, none of the ingredients in either product contain dairy, however there is a higher risk of cross-contamination when the products are made on the same line. Therefore, this product is not recommended for those with milk allergies as well as those following a Jewish parve. If the product does not list dairy (make sure to double check) then no dairy is in the recipe.

Share This

About the author

My name is Dana Hart. I am an anthropology student and traveller. Veganism is a passion I have discovered in the past few years, and the more I learn, the more I love. While I prefer to make vegan creations in my kitchen, I am often busy with school or traveling across the country and need food on the road. What Vegans Eat is my project to share my passion for vegan food with other vegans and the world.

View all articles by Dana Hart

15 comments

  1. Lauren

    Hey there! I was wondering how recently the ingredients were checked on one of these packages, as it seems a while ago they switched to a dairy recipe for the product. I can’t seem to find any information on them switching back.


    1. Post author
      What Vegans Eat

      Whenever I read the packages for the Semi-Sweet PC Chocolate Chips, all of the listed ingredients are vegan, and the product ‘may contain’ dairy due to being processed in a facility that processes dairy products. I see that on their website the ingredients are still listed without dairy despite the comments on the product page. I will call them for clarification and get back to you. Thanks for your question!


    2. Post author
      What Vegans Eat

      I have called PC today, November 28th 2013. I didn’t have a bar code handy, so I used the two provided on the site. Bags with the code: 6038307922 (possibly the larger bag?) are may contain as usual. Bags with the code: 6038365205 (300g bags) are may contain (made in the same facility) as well as made on a line with dairy products. According to PC, none of the ingredients in either product contain dairy, however there is a higher risk of cross-contamination. Therefore, this product is not recommended for those with milk allergies as well as those following a Jewish parve. If the product does not list dairy (make sure to double check) then no dairy is in the recipe.

      1. Lauren

        Oh hey, thank you so much for phoning them! I’d thought it was weird, but I figured all those people complaining knew better. The cross-contamination makes a lot of sense. Thanks again! <3

  2. Jenn

    This info is extremely helpful, as I am not vegan but am trying to bake something vegan so a coworker can partake.

    Incidentally, you may be interested to know that the President’s Choice brand name refers to the President of Loblaws, the grocery chain–the conceit being that he has personally chosen these products as the best formulations available.


    1. Post author
      Dana Hart

      Glad I could help Jenn! I’m sure your coworker will be delighted! That Galen Weston, I’m not surprised seeing how he named his son after himself as well. Thanks for the info!

  3. Robin

    Yay! This news just made my day, I am baking something vegan and was worried I’d have to spend a bunch of money at the organic store. Instead I will just go to Superstore. Thanks!

  4. travellingfool

    Am planning on baking for a vegan friend. I went to Superstore today to see the PC semi-sweet chocolate chips and it says “may contain milk”. Is that still vegan?


    1. Post author
      Dana Hart

      Yep! May contain just means that it is made in a factory that also processes dairy products. A lot of people I know that have nut allergies still eat products that may contain nuts, just because the recipes are nut free. But the choice is really up to you if you feel comfortable with possible cross contamination.

  5. Olga

    They are called President’s Choice because the former president of Loblaws – Dave Nichol came up with the President’s Choice brand as an upscale No Frills store brand.

  6. Ray

    Thanks for the tip! I’ve been looking for convenient vegan chocolate for my vegan girlfriend. By the way, it’s called President’s Choice in reference to the president of the company, not the United States.


    1. Post author
      Dana Hart

      Actually Kim, “may contain” means that they ARE NOT made with milk products, but that they are made in a facility that uses milk products. Therefore, they label “may contain” to remove liability in the case that cross contamination makes someone sick. So there is a risk of cross contaimation, but the chocolate chips are not made with milk.

      1. Kayla

        Was just about to type this! It’s a common misconception with vegans that this means there is milk in their products! It’s just an allergen notice (completely overused as well) pretty much to just cover their butts. I appreciate it that you actually contacted them directly and confirmed this! I saw them in the grocery store today and almost bought them, but decided to come do research first! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *